Kings Park, New York
Kings Park Psychiatric Center was established in New York City in 1885, and was originally called Kings County Asylum. Originally in Brooklyn, it was a farm colony, where patients worked in farm related activities. Overcrowding forced the relocation to Long Island in the community of St. Johnland. The hospital grew to over 150 buildings, and at its peak housed nearly 10,000 inmates.
Farming activities eventually gave way to frontal lobotomies and electro-shock, which gave way to Thorazine and other drugs. These drugs in theory allowed patients to live in the general population, and by the early 1990s, Kings Park was nearly empty.
Today most of the buildings remain, and much of the grounds have been converted into Nissequogue River State Park. Asbestos and other pollutants complicate destroying the buildings, so they remain empty, increasingly falling in. People come from all over the country to sneak into and explore, and the site is well documented online.
Of course there are legends about hauntings, far too many to relate here. To walk the grounds is to feel the scope of the problems of the mentally ill, and to look at the imposing structures, one can get a sense of the horror and terror many must have felt here. Kings Park was truly a city of the insane.